Line Mountain High School

Line Mountain Art

Congratulations to Lexy Skelly and Gage Beck for winning 1st Place in Logo and Graphic Design at the 2024 PA Media and Design Competition! They move on to the state competition at Dickinson College in May.

Click HERE to see the full project.

Line Mountain Art

Line Mountain Senior Art student Katie Ptaszynski recently received an Honorable Mention Portfolio Review while exhibiting her sculpture at Bloomsburg University.  Katie created the sculpture in honor of her father whose medical mask was used in the creation of her exhibit as well as a polymer-clay casting of her own face. The art made for a very moving and contemplative installation at the University Gallery.

Line Mountain FFA

Levi Ferster

Casey Keiter

Congratulations to Levi Ferster who is interviewing for the PA State Star in Ag Placement.  Levi was chosen to represent the Northern Region of PA from other Keystone Degree recipients with employment project books.  He has logged over 3600 hours of labor on West Malta Farms and Ferster Excavating and 160 hours of community service since the beginning of his FFA career.


Both Levi and Casey Keister have earned all the requirements to receive the Keystone Degree at the Farm Show in Harrisburg in early January.

Line Mountain FBLA

Congratulations to Nolan Baumert of Line Mountain School District, who worked under the leadership of Karrie Bowman, and was a place-winner in the Personal Budgeting competition sponsored by Brighter Financial Futures.  The competitions are held in the classroom, both county-wide and state-wide.  Nolan finished in 2nd place in the Personal Budgeting Challenge in Dauphin County. Click HERE for more

 Line Mountain Art

Elizabeth Young and Chelsey Tomlinson

Congratulations to Elizabeth Young and Chelsey Tomlinson, senior artists, for each having work picked to receive a $300 award and a permanent installation at the CSIU#16 Gallery in Montandon PA. The pair has also be invited to attend an upcoming awards ceremony and dinner on May 17th.

Future Business Leaders of America

The Line Mountain FBLA organization recently competed at the 2023 State Leadership Conference in Hershey, PA on April 17th and 18th.  Place winners at the state competition were:

Cassie Laudenslager, Kyleigh Masser, Emma O’Neill

Cassie Laudenslager – Marketing – 5th Place

Kyleigh Masser – Healthcare Administration – 6th Place

Emma O’Neill – Help Desk – 5th Place


Line Mountain Youth in PhilanthropyHome - Community Giving Foundation

On Tuesday, April 18 our Youth In Philanthropy students and advisors joined more than 190 students from 13 school districts in our region to present grant awards to grantee organizations in the surrounding community. This was our school’s inaugural year in the program. Over the past year, our Line Mountain students received rave reviews for their performance from donors, board members, directors, and associates of the Community Giving Foundation’s YIP program. As their advisors, Mrs. Poltonavage and Mrs. Yisrael couldn’t be prouder of the students and the manner in which they represented the Line Mountain School District. 

The purpose of Line Mountain Youth in Philanthropy is for students to discover the meaning of philanthropy, learn about the local non-profit world, and take part in the grant-making process. Through this program, students are empowered to make a positive impact in their communities now and in the future. For the 2022-2023 school year our Youth in Philanthropy club awarded the following grants:

  1. Transitions of PA – Big Life Journey Program. This program will help students address issues related to self-esteem, responsible decision making, self-awareness, and facilitating positive peer interactions with the intention of helping students to reach their potential in developing a positive social emotional skill set that they can carry forward in their lives.
  2. Camp Dost – A Program of the Ronald McDonald House of Danville. This program was conceived to give pediatric cancer patients the opportunity to enjoy a summer camp experience without having to worry about the overall challenges of fighting cancer. Our grant will help send 4 campers to camp for an entire week.

This year, 65 grants totaling $63,500 were awarded through Community Giving Foundation’s Youth in Philanthropy program. For more info visit:

There were many grants awarded to school district programs and initiatives. We hope next school year you will take the opportunity to apply for the grant funds available through this outstanding program. 


Line Mountain Art & Design

Congratulations to Corrinne Mace for taking 1st Place in the Regional Media and Design Competition for Logo and Graphic Design. Corrinne will now compete in the state competition at Dickinson College in Carlisle. This is the 15th time Line Mountain has placed 1st and moved on to the state finals. The state finals consist of over 25 other entries in their category which includes Public and Private School Districts and Technical Institutes.


Randy Weiser Memorial Classroom

The Line Mountain Randy Weiser Memorial Classroom is beginning to take shape.  This outdoor classroom is being built by faculty and students in honor of long-time Middle School Teacher Mr. Randy Weiser.  The outdoor classroom will be used by the High School and the Middle School for outdoor learning and leisure during the Spring and Fall months of the school year.


The Color Of Flight

From the Daily Item: “Art teacher Wes Wagner and math teacher Charles Keer and their students unveiled ‘The Color of Flight’ in the hallway between the art and math departments. The wall mural, which depicts an eagle flying out of a hallway, uses leading lines and contrasting shapes to create the illusion of space and dimension.

Anamorphic employs a unique form of perspective in which the art can only be viewed properly from one single vantage point. Away from this point, distortion and warped forms create a uniquely abstracted image. As a person walks down the hall away from that vantage tile, the proportions of the mural becomes oblique and exaggerated. The art changes because it is based on a grid system that has tapering geometric proportions.”

To see the entire project, you can visit The Daily Item’s webpage by CLICKING HERE



Parent/Student Digital Citizenship Videos

Digital citizenship is the appropriate and responsible use of technology. Too often we are seeing students, as well as adults, misusing and abusing technology but not sure what to do. The issue is more than what users don’t know, it’s what is considered appropriate. The videos provided below will help parents educate themselves as well as their children in the appropriate use of technology and social media.  Click Here for a series of videos to Start Your Positive Digital Footprint.

Line Mountain High School

Line Mountain High School

Line Mountain Morning News

Line Mountain Morning News

Line Mountain YouTube Channel

Line Mountain YouTube Channel


Line Mountain High School 
187 Line Mountain Road · Herndon, PA 17830 
(570) 758-2011 · Fax: (570) 758-1514
Copyright © 2024
Line Mountain School District
185 Line Mountain Road · Herndon, PA 17830
(570) 758-2640 · Fax (570) 758-2842
Staff WebMail · Library Catalog · Links · Contact Us
Powered by WordPress and Azul Silver